Sister States Program
Maryland Sister States program was established in 1980 to provide a forum for the promotion of international cooperation and understanding. Through broad-based citizen participation in a wide variety of exchanged in areas of mutual interest, the Sister States program offers countless opportunities to develop partnerships around the world in: art, culture, transportation, professional development, film, women's issues, business, education, health care, sports and law. This program is the conduit for Maryland's twelve official sister state relationships which include: China, Liberia, Korea, Mexico, Japan, Russia, Vietnam, Estonia, Brazil, Nigeria, Turkey, and Ireland.